Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

1995 Discovery won't seem to keep running

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2015, 01:40 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 Discovery won't seem to keep running

Hello, Everyone! I'm a new member with and older Discovery 1 (1995 with 170,000 miles), and I'm having some problems with my car. It starts up but runs only for about ten seconds before stalling; it stalls even quicker if you step on the gas. While it idles for the brief moment, the engine sounds beautiful, no misses. Here's what I've already done to try to diagnose the problem (by the way, I am not a mechanic, just a newbie who is tired of bringing it to the mechanic, with a father-in-law who's pretty good with engines): added fresh fuel with fuel additive; changed the fuel filter; cleaned the MAF; cleaned the Stepper Motor; checked the air-filter/box/hose; cleaned the crankcase vent; insured there is fuel supply. For a while, I could extend the time it idled for by putting my hand over the air intake, but now that doesn't seem to work any longer. Any ideas?

Old 07-21-2015, 03:32 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts

There should be a black box under the passenger seat that has red LED numbers lit. What are they?

Old 07-21-2015, 03:39 PM
Drifting

Hi, ihscouts, thanks for responding. There are no lights lit on that little black box (OBD module?); there used to be, but nothing shows anymore. Do you have an idea of how I can check to see if it's working, or to determine if it's burned out? Thanks!

Old 07-21-2015, 04:16 PM
Drifting

OK...maybe some good news: I wiggled the little black box and the 03 code reads out on the LED display. Not sure what that code means; it's not listed on the OBD Code list that I have. Any ideas? Thanks!

Old 07-21-2015, 05:00 PM
Drifting