Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

'96 Discovery ignition switch loose and hot wire start

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2012, 01:14 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '96 Discovery ignition switch loose and hot wire start

My daughter just picked up a '96 Discovery, and I'm just starting to learn the "finer points" of getting a Land Rover working.

The ignition switch is mounted on the steering column, but isn't bolted on very firmly. The switch had a pair of shear bolts that were finger tight, with the shear heads still intact...so someone has been there already. I'm probably going to replace the shear bolts with allen bolts, so I can take it apart whenever I need to.

The ignition switch just functions as an "on-off" switch at this point. To start it, someone has rigged up a hot wire, and I have to open the hood and touch one end of the hot wire to the hot battery post, and engage a remote starter switch that I assume goes to the starter solinoid. The truck satrs fine, fires up on the first crank, and then will run until I turn off the ignition switch. There is no "start" function via the ignition switch, and to get the key out I have to disconnect one of the battery cables. And since the switch is loosely attached to the column, I have no locking steering.

And as I said, this is actuallt my daughter's vehicle, and while she's probably game for opening the hood every time it needs to start, I'd like to get it a little more civilized. Can anyone recognize this "multitude of sins"?

Old 07-08-2012, 02:00 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

In my signature you'll find links to the RAVE, the factory shop manual set. It has circuits manuals, electrical guides with pictures, and full shop manuals. You'll also want to look thru our tech section for DIY articles of interest.