Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

99 disco 1 electrical issues - no start

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2016, 07:54 PM
Overlanding
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 99 disco 1 electrical issues - no start

Good evening everyone,

I have been trolling this forum for 8 months utilizing loads of information you have been sharing, which has saved me tons of money and aggravation etc.

I will quickly give you the details of my disco and then jump to the horror story that i am now experiencing. I bought TWO 99 disco series 1 for $500 total with the hope of making one good one to take camping, trail riding and towing a bay boat. Both are exactly the same, down to color and emissions group. After digging in i realized i got what was paid for and was stubborn enough to continue. One had a very nice interior, and that is it. It sounded like a marching band going down the street lol. The runner had usual ticking from lifter noise and a very worn suspension, but other than that was rust free and was the winner of the two.

after swapping interiors, I went in to change the lifters and was mortified with condition of the rocker assemblies. motor was completely torn down.

ALMOST $4k later, I have a completely rebuilt 4.0L gems, OME 2" suspension, new sensors all the way around, bushings, steering gearbox ETC ETC ETC.

HERE WE GO! after 300 miles of total bliss I had elected to have a new custom exhaust done with magnaflow cats and muffler and all new piping. They apparently did not secure the 02 sensors correctly and the wiring harness was badly snagged up in the front drive shaft, breaking some wires while on the highway. Had it towed home, sorted it out and spliced everything back together, no start. Fuel pump will not turn on when key is turned. Put 12 volts to the pump and it turns on fine. Reset inertia switch, change relay, and ALL fuses, CKS no luck.