Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Delayed crank, no power to fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2016, 06:27 PM
Overlanding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Delayed crank, no power to fuel pump

Hello, this is my first post, though given the challenges I've faced with my Disco 1 since buying it last March, I feel like I have been posting for ages. Im a licensed structural engineer and a Jeep "graduate," though I think I've met my match with this vehicle. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

It's a 1998, 50th Anny Ed. Disco I, which has had her fair share of problems. The newest of which occurred while reversing out of the driveway a couple of weeks ago. Started fine, sounded good, was warmed up, shifter into reverse and stalled. This is not entirely uncommon, though is typically associated with a cold engine. In this case, the motor was warm and the stall occurred abruptly, only a second or two after shifting into reverse and beginning my roll.

Prior to this, I installed a new fuel pump, crank position sensor, battery and multifunction relay (amongst other things including spark plugs, leads, and MAF). Using a multi-meter, I checked to confirm that I have power at the relay and fuel pump and further confirmed by disassembling an old MFR and manually closing it while the key was in position II - fuel pump worked, but no spark.

Whats really strange is when I turn the ignition from position II to III, there is a 1-2 second delay until the starter cranks.

I have traced wires and swapped relays under the passenger side kick panel to see if may have been a phantom loose connection, but no luck, same symptoms. I disassembled the EMC to inspect for damage and, aside from a corroded connector which I cleaned, the circuit boards appeared to be in good condition.