Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

P1316 code

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2017, 02:41 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P1316 code

My disco 1 has a check engine light on, ran the code and it was P1316. I'm having some hesitation issues after it warms up and the idle will drop super low, almost to the point of stalling. I changed out my MAF thinking that may be causing it and I'm about to change out the IACV early next week. I've replaced all plugs and wires within 10,000 miles. The cats are only 15,000 miles old and the O2 sensors are all brand new. Any thoughts on what could be causing this only code to pop up???

Old 02-18-2017, 06:29 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Before you throw any more parts at the thing, which will get expensive real quick, you really need to do some more trouble shooting.

I've been turning a wrench under the shade tree for 35 years, and I've never run across a bad IACV. I've read plenty about others who think it is their problem, but I am suspicious, usually. And every MAF I ever replaced I pretty much ruined myself in a misguided attempt to clean them (2x).

IACV is expensive, and requires a trip to your local dealer to recalibrate the ECU with the IACV, unless you have a copy of testbook lying around. Bet you didn't know that.

I'm not saying it's not your issue. I am not there, I can't see your truck, so I am just guessing.

Typical mechanics workflow ----> rule out the cheap easy stuff first. Get a copy of RAVE. Look for the troubleshooting sections. Follow the diagnostic charts. Ask questions here with lots of descriptive information in them. We will help you fix your truck for the lowest $$$ output.

I would more likely suspect a garden variety vacuum leak might be causing your symptoms. Prolly fix that with some duct tape if you had to. Props to Red Green.

Good luck brother

Old 02-18-2017, 09:09 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts