Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

sensors

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2016, 01:59 PM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sensors

My ECT , IAT sensors are showing - 40℉ but shows good resistance on a ohms test.
The TPS shows wide open throttle on scan tool .

I'm just starting out on working on this green beast . Nice to see there is so many enthusiasts out there .

Old 08-20-2016, 08:28 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts

Welcome aboard.

Those two sensors are showing a default value. Check wiring, connectors at sensors through the ECM connectors and pins. Dielectric grease em and see if that changes the value. The TPS would show a change in resistance (disconnected) when rotated and it should be smooth. If it's choppy (just off idle or near cruise at 2k mark) replace it. WOT means it isn't touching much copper - dead spot....... will default to 1750 rpm once dead.

A link to the service manual called the "Rave" is in the "tech section", download it. It makes life much easier dealing with a moody child.

There are allot less of us "enthusiasts" than ever before. The D1 is going the way of the Dodo, most are nearing 20 years old. The time to find one in good condition with decent mileage at a good price is getting critical cuz they'll likely start to increase in value within the next few years as does everything old.

Once these trucks are sorted out they remain rather trustworthy so keep that in mind. They're easy to work on and do have one heck of a smooth **** ride for a straight axle setup.

If you need parts ask us where to get em from.

Old 08-21-2016, 03:41 PM
8th Gear

So I poked around today , and decided to pull the ecu located next to the wiper fluid reservoir . I opened it up and I spotted the problem right away . There is a brake in one of the copper strips on the circuit board.

I just fixed the board my self with a nice little kit I picked up at Radio shack .They even had tin copper bus wire !