Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Subwoofer Input

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2015, 03:41 PM
Mudding
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Subwoofer Input

The previous owner had installed a Pioneer head unit which I hope to remove and inspect this weekend - primarily because they never hooked up a light dimmer wire. But I'm wondering, what kind of input was used for the subs, i'e' low-level or ...? Just exploring possibilities of using the rear amp and/ or speakers with this unit. Just a little research while I'm here at work... Russ

Old 10-03-2015, 04:06 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 178 Likes on 165 Posts

I will try to help you with this. I have a lot of experience with Pioneer and hooking up. I do need to know what Pioneer unit you have, what OEM stereo components are in your vehicle, i.e. amp, steering wheel controls, any aftermarket amps, subs, etc.

Old 10-03-2015, 05:32 PM
Mudding
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

So you want to hook the stock subs to the pioneer stereo and want to know if the subs use a separate amp with a low powered signal or if the stock stereo system powered the the subs?

I can tell ya that my aftermarket deck is wired into my stock subs and the RCA's aren't being used. They aren't very loud though. The guy that wired it up appears to be an idiot because I had to rewire some of it. Not sure how he wired the subs.

Old 10-03-2015, 09:39 PM
Recovery Vehicle

On mine, I am using the stock amp and stock subs in rear door, and added a 10" Pioneer enclosure with a separate mono bloc amp to drive it. Realizing that the stock 6.5's are more of a mid to bass and not a real sub. The end product sounds very nice with pretty much the whole sound spectrum being covered.
Granted mine is on an 03 Disco 2, and the reason I was asking what your system consists of.

Old 10-06-2015, 09:47 AM
Winching
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

I have a Kenwood Excelon deck and a $45 BOSS monoblock amp driving these: