Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Up armoring

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2015, 12:28 AM
Overlanding
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Up armoring

Hello everyone.
My name is Joe. I'v been lurking for a few months and thought its time to give back to the forum here. A few months ago I purchased a 1994 Discovery 5sp manual. It was a basket case; would not start, none of the windows worked, leaked from every possible location, sounded like an Abrams tank in the grand canyon, and PO stated he had to "put water in it every day to keep it from overheating". The previous owner was an 18yo punk kid from Chicago who treated it like a beater and trashed the hell out of it. Well thanks to the volumes of information here I was able to bring her back to her former glory. I am proud to say after small fortune she runs as well as the day she left the dealership.

Which brings me to the reason for this post. I am a mechanical engineer I spend most of my time testing various bits of aerospace equipment for failure. I recently discovered my employer has a fully stocked metal shop that was once used for building small scale aircraft models for testing. I have the proper permission to use the shop as I need.

I am designing and building an up armor kit. Front bumper, Rear bumper, Frame Sliders, Skid plates and expedition roof rack. I feel its important to pay forward the help this forum has given me, so I will release the Plans, prints, views, drawings notes and files. Anything that you would need to replicate what I have done. So far I have drawn the front and rear bumper shells. They are still in the design stage, this week I will have full scale mockups made in corrugated cardboard for test fitting. Considering I am relatively new to the discovery, I am open to design recommendations. I will continue to post updates as the project progresses and completed files once the finished products are complete.

Thank you to everyone for your guidance