Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Car Tent" for Discovery

Old 10-21-2008, 04:31 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Car Tent" for Discovery

hi all,

I'm studying abroad in Stockholm next semester and so the Disco is going to get about a half year of sitting on it's fat *** in my parents yard. I'm researching things to do in terms of long term storage of course, but what i really want to get is a nice shelter for it to be protected from the elements. I live in Massachusetts so between January and June it's going to get plenty of snow, rain, sleet and sap falling from the sky.

i want to get one of those 4-season "Rhino Shelter" car tents but i'm not sure which to get... does anyone have experience with these things?

this is what i'm talking about:
http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...1124_200121124

says it's 8 feet high although i'm not sure about the door...

My Disco stands 6'8" with it's rack, so i need something pretty tall.

Old 10-21-2008, 05:54 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts
Default RE: "Car Tent" for Discovery

Well do this before you buy anything, go to a self storage unit and inquire about inside storage for a car. It runs from $25-$50 per month, even at $50 per month that is still cheaper than the tent that you are looking at, it would be inside a building and you could put a battery tender on it to keep the battery full.
Where ever you store it make sure that you put storage insurance on it, that way if the building burns down or a tree falls on it it will be covered.
Buy four jack stands, put two under each axle so that you take the weight off of the tires.
Buy a quart of Sta-Bil fuel stabalizer, dump that whole thing into the gas tank and then fill up with premium, drive it to storage and park it, put the jack stands under the axles, hook up the battery tender, lock the doors and give her one last kiss.