Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just bought 95 Disco V8i 3.9 and I'm lost help please!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2008, 02:29 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought 95 Disco V8i 3.9 and I'm lost help please!!

Hey guys,

This is my first post so hello and I'm so glad I found this forum! Ok on to my million questions. I just bought a 95 Disco with 136k miles and instantly fell in love with it, but it's got its problems unfortunately and hopefully I can find some answers here. I don't know a great deal about engines so please forgive me if I ask stupid questions I'm still learning.

1. When I start the rover it sounds sick, It takes about 3 seconds of turning the key in the ignition and it "winding out" before it actually starts. Sometimes it won't even start and when I turn the key again it does nothing, so I turn the key all the way back as if I were going to remove it from the ignition and then turn it again and itll struggle then turn over. Could this be a bad starter? Spark plugs, or cillenoid(sp)? Any advice would be appreciated.

2. One of the most important problems I see with the disco is the fact that no matter how many times I switch from park to neutral the 4WD shifter seems to be stuck in the position it is in. Problems I believe may be in relation to this are:
- When I drive the engine makes a whiring or whining sound which seems directly linked to the RPMS, as I increase speed the whiring sound becomes more high pitched and as I slow it slows and becomes lower pitch.
- There is a light in my console that shows all four wheels and its yellow. It stays on permanently.

Am I stuck in 4wd low or something? Should the yellow "4 wheel axleicon" be lit up? What does it mean? are there any buttons on the console I press to use the 4WD shifter?