Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sai pump makes wierd sound

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2012, 03:24 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Sai pump makes wierd sound

hello everyone this is my first time on this site, i have a 2003 landrover discovery, ive been hearing a loud suction sound when i start the truck coming from the Sai pump when i remove the Sai vaccum solenoid valve the noise stops. Does any one know how to fix the problem or whats causing it

Old 06-28-2012, 03:45 PM
Winching
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It may not be a problem. The SAI pump is supposed to run on first start of the day (temperature dependent) It will sound like a vacuum cleaner for a while and then shut off. it's purpose is to reduce emissions on cold starts.

Old 06-28-2012, 09:12 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

The filter may be clogged.
In the "write up" section on the DII page is a "how to" replace that filter.

Old 06-29-2012, 02:11 PM
Recovery Vehicle

check filter, but also squeeze the housing when its running, see if applying pressure makes the loud noise go down to tollerable levels, if so, the rivets have stretched or popped and airs shooting back out between the housing (you can also feel it easily) causing the noise to be rather loud. happened to mine almost a year ago, i just unplugged the ****er and let it be. ive been meaning to try silicon or epoxy around the seems to see if itll work, im sure it would i dont think it puts out too many psi... certainly cheaper then gettin a new pump. also, ive heard that you can drilled out the rivets and just replace them with nuts/bolts and be done with it.

Old 06-29-2012, 02:49 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

alright i'll give these things a try to see if they'll work thank you

Old 06-29-2012, 04:04 PM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts

Originally Posted by eagleconrado