Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Which year is best to buy for a Discovery II

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 04:40 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which year is best to buy for a Discovery II

Hello Everyone,
I'm very new to Land Rover Discoverys and very green when it comes to deciding on one. I'm in Maryland and we have quite a few for sale, most I've seen are 03's, but there is plenty ranging from 95' to 04'. I want one for daily use and for some very light off-roading on the weekends. I thank you all for any help that you may give in this choice.

Old 02-18-2011, 06:25 AM
Banned
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

This question has been beaten to death, search the forum.
Basically D1 (1994~1999) have less electronics and are solid vehicles, they do well off road but are not as refined as the D2. D2 (1999~2004) have more electronics, are more refined but have more problems.

Old 02-18-2011, 08:36 AM
Winching
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

Like Bundu says, this topic has been beaten to death. The answer is very much dependent upon your needs/desires. I love my D2, but D1's are simpler, less refined, arguably more reliable, and smaller...what factors matter to most to you? How much time are you willing to put into maintaining your Disco every week? Before buying one, you need to understand that owning an older Rover definitely isn't for everyone. Please search for this and other topics before posting a question. I've found that there aren't a lot of questions that haven't been asked, and you'll learn a lot more by finding it yourself.