Freelander Talk about the Land Rover Freelander within.

2003 Freelander Starter removal replace

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2013, 08:09 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Freelander Starter removal replace

2003 Land Rover Freelander Starter remove / replace procedure. I had to change out my starter and couldn't find the exact procedure anywhere on the Internet so I thought I would try to put the procedure here and perhaps it will be useful to someone. I'm by no means a mechanic but you can do this in a couple of hours in your driveway without any problem.
1. Remove the engine cover by twisting the large plastic thumb screws and using a screwdriver remove loosen the hose clamps around the breather hoses. Set this thing aside.
2. Disconnect both battery leads and using a long extension on your socket loosen the 13mm bolt on the front side of the battery that secures the plastic block that keeps the battery in the holder. Remove the block and set it aside. Remove the battery.
3. Using your same 13mm socket and long extension remove the bolt in the bottom center of the battery box, the bolt on the front side of the battery box and the two bolts holding the battery box to the fender.
4. Cut the zip tie on the back of the battery box that is securing the wiring harness. Unclip the black hose which is secured by the battery box and lift the battery box out and set it aside. Keep the bolts with the battery box.
5. Get out your phone and take a couple of photos of the top of the large intake hose just left of where the battery box was. Make a note of the three wiring harnesses and the sensors they connect to. Remove all there harnesses and secure them out of your way.
6. Using a Torx T30 socket on a ¼” ratchet with a 2” extension, remove the four 2” long Torx screws attaching the hose and Mass Air Flow sensor to the intake manifold. Do not remove any hoses, just flip the hose/MAF sensor assembly up and back on top of the manifold. Tie it down.