LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do you get good response from your gas pedal???

Old 01-26-2015, 09:59 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do you get good response from your gas pedal???

I am new to LR and have had my 2008 LR3 for about a month. There is so much I like about the car but one thing that is very much bugging me is the response (lack thereof) from pressing the gas pedal!

When I give it a good press down, it takes at least one full second for the car to move. ?? Whether I am starting from a stop, or speeding up at highway speed, there is such a disappointing delay in response. When it does respond, of course there is plenty of power.

I've tried SPORT mode and can tell the difference in higher RPM's before shifting, but still, a press on the gas pedal yields a painfully slow response.

Does this sound familiar to anyone? Maybe I'll just get used to it?? (I had a 2003 Pathfinder for the last 8 years before this and it was so awesomely responsive on the pedal.)

Thanks.

Old 01-26-2015, 10:05 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Sounds like you might need a software update.

Old 01-27-2015, 10:55 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 454 Likes on 405 Posts

Either that or re-setting the adaptations. One trick, lemme see if I can remember this correctly....put the key in ignition detent II, hold the gas pedal to the floor for 10 seconds. Turn the vehicle completely off (takes 2 minutes; computers turn off, etc...you can hear it). Now start up and take off. You should feel the difference.

Old 01-27-2015, 04:34 PM
Mudding
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts

Hmm, my 08 is actually a little too touchy. It took me a month to adapt and be able to touch the pedal lightly enough not to jerk my head back from acceleration!

I almost prefer the way it drives in snow mode (2nd gear start) off the line, but when you want to pull out quickly it's nice to have that first gear snap.