LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Offroad lights

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2014, 02:10 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Offroad lights

I have LR driving lights installed on my 06 LR3, with factory switch. I have a voyager rack roof rack with two 55w offroad lights mounted, but not wired. I have little electrical experience, but understand diagrams enough to wire them. Can I wire these to the factory driving light switch or do I need to wire them separate to the switch that came with the aftermarket lights? The aftermarket diagram instructs to splice into high beams, anyone have a pic of which wire that is?

Thanks!!

Old 07-10-2014, 04:06 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 454 Likes on 405 Posts

When you say "factory switch" do you mean the rotory and by "driving lights" you mean the ones installed in the bumper? I have the LR "off road lights" that mount to separately to the bumper or in my case the A-Frame Brush Bar, and those are wired to a switch integrated on my dash on the right side of the steering wheel. Those indeed are wired such that they only come on if my high beams are selected on.

Old 07-10-2014, 06:28 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts

In order to wire that up, you also need to tell the vehicle it is installed by programming the computer. It's a good setup. Do you need the installation instructions for the factory kit, maybe that would be a good place to start. If you need the factory installation manual, drop me a PM w/e-mail and I'll send it to you.

Old 07-10-2014, 06:41 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 144 Likes on 127 Posts
Default more info needed

As houm_wa says, more info is needed. I assume you have an LR3 but the odds of it having a factory driving light switch installed is about zero. Also are your headlights the HID projector type with the H7 additional high beam or all the H7 type?