LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suspension dryer or lines?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2013, 08:03 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Suspension dryer or lines?

Hey folks. Newbie here. I drive a '07 LR3 HSE. As of late, I have a "Suspension Fault Normal Height Only" message every time I drive it. I have attempted to find a resolution on this site & others. I see most point toward a compressor or a cracked dryer. I sprayed soapy water on my lines on the dryer with orange and blue fittings. There are significant leaks at those fittings. I removed the compressor, dryer and bracket to see if I could get my eye on any glaring issues.

I am of the belief the pump is running too much in an attempt to keep up with the leaks. ...overheating & protecting itself by shutting off. Thereby throwing a caution.

I noticed my lines, that are leaking, are indented where the fitting within the dryer crimps them. Has anybody found success in replacing the lines alone?

Thanks!

Old 07-25-2013, 08:59 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

No, dryer is the cause of that leak. The escaping desiccant damages the seals.

Replace it, and you should be alright, as long as over running the compressor has not damaged it.

You're on the right track with the compressor running too much, it will over heat, but that is not what throws the fault. The fault that this will throw is either for the pressure increasing too slowly, or the pressure dropping when the system is inactive, due to the leak.

Either way, change out the dryer, don't try to just fix the leak, as you do not want desiccant all through the system.

Old 07-25-2013, 10:11 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

roverguy7 - Thanks for the insight! I will order one tonight & let her be a garage queen for a few days to (hopefully) spare the compressor.

Old 08-09-2013, 01:23 PM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts