LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR4 buyer tips for a newb to Land Rover

Old 07-07-2014, 01:13 PM
5th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default LR4 buyer tips for a newb to Land Rover

Hello everyone,

I have a few questions in regards to making the jump to Land Rover world.

A little about myself. I worked in the automotive industry for 12+ years mainly in the service department for VW, Audi and Porsche. I've always like Land Rovers but have been hesitant to change brands due to old stigma of reliability.

I will be replacing my 2004 Toyota 4Runner V8 sport. I love the truck but the frame is getting a little tired and the interior worn out. I average about 17-19mpg as I live in the foothills of the white mountains in Maine. It currently has 173k on the odometer and still runs like a top.

My main attraction to the LR4 is the off road ability with the added luxury and fit and finish. I like the third row seat and built in rear entertainment for my soon to be first born child.

We really like the V8 in our current vehicle and only having a V6 in the new 4Runners is a real turn off. Not to mention the change in the 4wd option.

Hence why I'm seriously looking into either a 2010 or 2011 LR4.

I need something with room
The ability to tow
Good 4 season driving ability
Safe
Something with longevity

Here are some questions:

What's the average life span of the brakes and tires? (I will mostly be driving backroads with limited city/stop and go driving)

What are some average MPG for this vehicle?

Any high mileage LR4's out there? Is 150,000 uncommon for this engine?

I do plan on taking this off road too

Any common issues either mechanical or electrical? E.g. Persistent oil leaks, bad fuel pumps, air ride concerns etc.