LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I get an LR4?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 10:52 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I get an LR4?

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for an honest answer to whether I should get a 2013/2014 LR4? I am a recent law school grad at a big law firm and have always loved the LR4. Everyone has warned me about terrible gas mileage, car expenses, and reliability issues that should cause me to turn my head and get an audi or merc instead. Only one people say is worse is BMW.

Therefore, I was wondering are these legitimate concerns?

Thank you in advance

Old 02-27-2017, 02:56 PM
JWA
6th Gear

The LR3 and now LR4 only have a few known issues and for the most part they're not terribly expensive to rectify. They're much less catastrophic than the common issues in older Discos.

2013 and 2014 have different engines and possibly drivetrain setups, so that's something to be aware of if you're thinking of those years.

2010-2013 have the 5.0L Jaguar V8 that has been proven to be very reliable other than the water pumps that have almost all been replaced by now. 2014-2016 went to the supercharged V6 that has a touch less power but a touch better mpg (as in 1).

With the change to the SC V6 in 2014 they went to a single-speed transfer case as standard for the first time in the Discovery/LR line's history and the 2-speed transfer case was an option with the HJD package.

Congrats on the fresh degree and position. If you want one, buy the cleanest one you can find with a solid maintenance history at a licensed dealer or well known independent shop. Sending it to the local dealer for a Pre-Delivery Inspection is always a good idea too. But in general, the LR4 has proven to be quite reliable in comparison to past LRs/RRs.

Old 02-27-2017, 10:23 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 139 Likes on 120 Posts