New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Good Evening From a Potential Future Disco Owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2016, 10:43 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good Evening From a Potential Future Disco Owner

Hey there!
I've been rattling the idea around for a few years on purchasing a D2 and I believe I'm at a point that I'll buy one next spring. Being an Aircraft Mechanic, I'm no stranger to fixing mechanical things, and I've had my share of headstrong vehicles.

1994 300ZX
1980 Malibu w/383 SBC
2001 S2000
2001 RX300

I currently drive a couple of LS430's and am itching at getting another project in the garage.

I figure I've got the next 4 months to learn everything I can about the Discovery so I'll be ready to purchase in the spring. Hoping to learn as much as I can here

Jim

Old 12-26-2016, 10:13 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 1,160 Likes on 836 Posts

Good idea to do as much research as possible. Especially, here. Plenty of knowledgeable folks around these parts and most have been down the same road, some bumper than others and on rare occasion...smooth sailing.

You'll notice a familiar tone on Craigslist posting...most mention an overheating issue...that can be "easily" repaired. Don't even bother calling on such listings, since most would have been repaired, if it was something easy or cheap.

Then you have the "tick"...beware of this issue also. It is sometimes a result of overheating the engine and usually means slipped cylinder sleeve(s). Not an easy fix by any means.

Then there is the CDL issue, some models have it, while some don't. If somewhat serious off roading is in your future...CDL would be a concern. It can be added to a couple different years that just have the linkage eliminated by the factory...but others need more changes.

Check the classified here, some nice rigs pop up from time to time.

Good luck, in your endeavor.

Brian.