Other All other Land Rover vehicles.

Series III Clutch piston??

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 07:39 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Series III Clutch piston??

Hi guys,

I just bought a 1979 series III RHD 88 diesel Rover. I just got it running tonight with a little luck and bleeding of the fuel lines. However the Hydraulic clutch is giving me problems. I've bled the line running from the reservoir to the piston on the tranny. I push the pedal with some force and its met with some resistance, however the clutch doesn't engage. I can feel the gears with the stick and I know the clutch isn't engaging.

Any suggestions or pointers on how to trouble shoot/ fix the piston for the clutch?

I'm new to series rovers.

I found out that once you engage her in reverse "with or without" the clutch, She will go no matter what.

Old 12-21-2014, 08:15 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,464 Likes on 1,195 Posts

Not sure the layout on those but you should be able to see if it is actuating the clutch fork either from the outside of the tranny or from the inspection port. This will obviously be a two person operation unless you are flexible like gumby.

Old 02-16-2015, 08:25 PM
3rd Gear