General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 RR w/ 111K miles, ok to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2010, 03:56 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 RR w/ 111K miles, ok to buy?

Hello guys/gals. Newbie here, I read through this section of the forum, as well as the general tech section. I found (local) a 98 RR w/ 111K miles on it, going to check it out this afternoon.

I saw mention in a few places here about head gaskets. Are they something that generally needs replacing around 100K?

What are some things I should look for on this truck, any and all help will be appreciated. Ford & Chevy & Dodge trucks are all I've ever driven. So I'm new to this game, this RR will end up being my daily driver. I'm just looking for some cheap daily transportation and this one is priced about $7000. If it all checks out I was going to offer 6500 OTD and see what they say.

Also found an 04 Disc. for about the same price.... It has 104K miles and looks REALLY clean and in a lot better shape than the RR.

I'd much rather have a newer one! Which would be a better buy? It will be a DD and will ocasionally see some off-road, just weekend fun nothing serious. After reading around here, It seems as though the Disc is the much better O.R. capable truck, and cheaper to mod/work on.

Thanks again!

Last edited by Polaris425; 09-30-2010 at 04:10 PM.
Old 09-30-2010, 06:21 PM
Rock Crawling

I can't speak for the Discovery, but I definately would not consider the Range Rover to be "cheap daily transportation." I drive mine about once or twice a week and I love it. With these vehicles, the initial cost is not what you need to be concerned with. They are awesome vehicles, but are not cheap to maintain especially if you will not be doing your own repair work.

Old 09-30-2010, 06:56 PM
Drifting

Polaris,