General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie needs help! Starting problems 1998 P38

Old 06-10-2010, 07:46 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help! Starting problems 1998 P38

Hey guys. I have been doing tons of reading, and while im new to this forum, im not that new to problems with my 98 range rover. I have had many problems since owning her a year or two now, and still have not been able to resolve the ones related to starting her up. Right now, the truck is not running, because when i start her, she turns over fine, but then shuts off after a second or two. Sometimes, though this wont happen. It just happens for a little while, then it won't happen for a month. then, it will give me this problem again, and so on. I have checked most of the grounds, and relays. they seem to be ok, but im not a mechanic, don't have too much cash to bring it to one at the moment. i do know how to fix many things on my truck, but i am just not so electrically inclined...like checking voltage and testing parts, etc. with meters or whatever. i am more of a mechanical guy. ok, well, it seems as if there is a problem with either an electrical sensor causing it to shut off, or perhaps could it be the alarm system not letting her stay running? i doesn't seem mechanical, like a starter or anything, and I have not been able to have any luck messing around with the relays, wires, grounds, etc. Is there ANYTHING you guys could recommend to a guy like me to try to get her to stay on? SOmeone told me to disconnect the alarm, but i can't figure out how to do this. any and all help would be greatly appreciated, I really need my truck right now to get to work. Thanks guys.
Dave

Old 06-10-2010, 10:28 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post