Defender Talk about the Land Rover Defender within.

4x4 Noob - Please help me buy 2nd hand

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2007, 08:09 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4x4 Noob - Please help me buy 2nd hand

Hi,

I am a 4 x 4 noob. I want some help please choosing a LR

Background
Currently a 2 car / 2 adults 4 kids family. If we all go out we need 2 cars and my partner gets really panicky on the motorway and has been nagging me fo get a MPV. We live out in the sticks in the Forest of Dean, Gloucester and often are affected by floods and snow. I thought I could kill 2 birds with one stone and consider a 4 x 4 that would carry the 6 of us and if going on hols could have a 4 x 4 with the safari type rack on top for the luggage etc. The 4 x 4 wouldstill have the security of mobility in the bad weather. It may also give us opportunity for some instructed off-roading before perhaps pursing this as a small hobby

What to buy
Well the missus would have the run of it during the day (while I use my civic type r). I thought it best to avoid the toy roady 4x4. Lookingfor a minimum6 seater I'm thinking of a Defender 90 (county station wagon) as the 110 may be a bit too big. I think we will have a 5k budget. Could anyone help with validating my selection / giving alternatives please

Clearly main dealers ask top prices so for 5k there is little choice

Could someone give me advice as to buying private / trade, type of vehicle condition I could get for 5k, things to avoid? I'm worried in spending 5k and getting a pig in a poke or something that will become an expensive thing to fix in a few months

Sorry if I sound nooby but this really is my first venture into the 4 x 4 market. I'm ok with cars!

Thanks for reading this and hopefully you can let me have any advice

Old 08-22-2007, 02:47 AM
4th Gear
Default RE: 4x4 Noob - Please help me buy 2nd hand

Oh man, is this forum not so popular or is my question so noobish you are all ignoring me

Old 08-22-2007, 04:40 AM