Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Defender (https://landroverforums.com/forum/defender-32/)
-   -   I falled in love - Armored Defender (https://landroverforums.com/forum/defender-32/i-falled-love-armored-defender-28189/)

somekel 01-13-2010 07:46 AM

I falled in love - Armored Defender

5 Attachment(s)
Hello,
I am new to the off road cars area. I never had one, and now I decided it's the moment. From all available/affordable brands I decided that my offroad car will definetively be a Land Rover. Browsing through available Landies on internet one month ago I have found one which just does not let me sleep during night. V8, 3.5 petrol , 1986 Armored, 140.000Km . As I asked the opinion of many friends, all asked me the same question: Why do you need AK47 protection, and 8 shoot through holes ? Well, I don't need them , that's true, but the car just looks awesome.
Now, I am going to buy it in less than one month. I would like to ask here about common problems that may exist on this particular type of engine. I would also like to know if I may expect regular off road capabilities ( climbing, swamping ) regarding the fact that the car may be heavier due to the armor.What fuel consumption should I expect with an average speed on highway on 100-110Km/h ?
Thank you ,

somekel 01-13-2010 07:48 AM

more photos

4 Attachment(s)
Here are more photos

hilltoppersx 01-13-2010 10:28 AM

its going to be too heavy and dangerous to off road with... your on road gas mileage is going to be horrible.

somekel 01-13-2010 10:29 AM

new infos

I spoke with the guy, it weights 3 tons, and consumes 20l/100Km. Quite a lot.
He mentioned that the fuel pump is damaged so the car can not run. But I assume that this I can change by myself easily.
What would be your advices ? Would you buy it ? It's 8500EUR

Lindy 01-13-2010 11:23 AM

Do you live in the middle of a battle field?