Defender Talk about the Land Rover Defender within.

Starter Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2013, 03:32 PM
Drifting
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Starter Problem?

Hi,
I am a complete novice. My 1985 ex military Defender diesel, isnt starting.
I have ruled out the battery and the starter is getting 12v. It almost turns over but never really gets it done.
Any suggests on where I should look next?
Thank you for you help

Last edited by firstgeer; 04-07-2013 at 05:08 PM.
Old 04-07-2013, 06:05 PM
Super Moderator
Received 97 Likes on 91 Posts

Maybe corroded cables or a bad ground?

Old 04-13-2013, 06:03 PM
Drifting

Here is a recording of what she sounds like when I try to start her.
Jump to :20

Old 04-13-2013, 09:46 PM
Super Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 80 Posts

Would advise you start at the battery, clean those terminals. Follow the big cables from the battery. One should go to starter, remove and clean that up. One should go to frame ground, remove and clean that up. If you suspect your cables, you can connect a battery jumper cable set to bridge from (-) battery to metal frame. Starter draws like 300 amps, so does not take much corrosion to form a big voltage drop. A voltmeter connected from (+) battery to (+) on the starter should show voltage when cranking, but only like 1 volt drop, not five or six.

Could also be starter, but sounds like low volts to me.

Old 04-13-2013, 10:31 PM
Baja
Received 51 Likes on 44 Posts

The 300tdi starter can draw over 600 amps. I expect his could draw that much or close to it.
Yeah, make sure your cables all in good shape and well attached. All the large ones in the starter circuit, pos & neg.

Old 04-15-2013, 09:15 AM
Drifting

Thank you everyone for all the help!