Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

97 Discovery Overheating after Engine Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2011, 01:17 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Discovery Overheating after Engine Replacement

Hi guys.... I need to start out by saying that I am a complete noob to all this stuff and know very little about cars in general, so I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

I was given a 1997 Land Rover Discovery while I was on vacation in Vermont. The vehicle just (the day before) had its engine replaced by a mechanic who gave everything the green light. My wife and I drove the car around town without incident, however, on our 4 hour (on the highway) trip home, the car overheated. We discovered that it only overheated when the heater was not on. If I left the heat on, the temp gauge did not go over the halfway mark and stayed steady for the entire trip, but with the heat off, the temp creeped up.

Since getting the vehicle home, my friends (more mechanically inclined than I) have taken a look at the vehicle and made a wide variety of assumptions as to what is wrong with it.... air pockets, blocked radiator, thermostat, water pump etc... They noticed that the top hose did not seem to have much pressure and that both top and bottom hoses were hot. Also the car can idle indefinitely, without the heater on, and not overheat.