Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Discovery I (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-i-39/)
-   -   Do It Yourself D1 Seat Repair (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-i-39/do-yourself-d1-seat-repair-38148/)

jacumja 02-09-2011 04:40 PM

Do It Yourself D1 Seat Repair

3 Attachment(s)
Broken Seat/Ass Sling Tutorial
Cost : $6 worth of good duct tape, don't be cheap, your ass will thank you and no sense in doing it twice just to save $3.
Time : 2 hours
Knowledge level : I did it didn't I ?

Don't laugh guys this is my first attempt at giving back to the community.

So my 1st Land Rover I ever owned came equipped with a Special Edition Ghetto Seat. Basically the seat was sunken in and when you sat in it your butt hit the floor. I assumed the springs were broken and started looking for a new set online before even yanking the seat out. I quickly found that I couldn't find any springs. So I yanked the seat out last Sunday and flipped it to find this. Now I could be wrong but that "sling" Rover decided to use rather than springs all the way across. Looks and feels like the sacks my Grandma made us put picked peaches into. Then on the outsides they uses some sort of leather/plastic material to attach said peach bag to the hooks holding it to the frame.
Attachment 45932
Attachment 45933

I figured I could buy new seat/s have it repaired which a local shop quoted me $175 on or do it myself.Anyway I measured out the material as tight as possible but where it would still be able to reattach. Remember duct tape does not stretch.
1. I reinforced the material vertically so the rip would not come together. Causing it to be to small to hook back to the frame. Note that I like to over lap the outside edges of my duct tape to ad strength to it.