Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Need help with ABS system ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2011, 09:56 PM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with ABS system ASAP

Hey guys i'm a land rover noob in some desperate help. just bought a 1996 land rover discovery for a bigger vehicle for the wife to cart the kids in. she drove it for a week and suddenly lost all brake pressure. i started looking at the brake system and figured it was the brake booster cause the master cylinder was great. so i changed it tonight and found out that the back brakes arent even getting any pressure! and now the front passenger brake caliper is locking up! the abs light was on when i got it, but i just figured, ya know, its an old car. thought it was a fouled sensor or something simple. but now my wife doesnt have a ride and i gotta take my kid to school and her to work in my trans am, which isnt the easiest to get the little man out of the back of. does this sxound like a bad abs system? maybe just need a new abs chunk?

Old 01-12-2011, 09:59 PM
4wd High

also, the brake booster gave me the pressure back in the system. but when i tried to bleed the back lines, i got nothing out of the bleeder valve

Old 01-12-2011, 10:36 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

well you can simply pull the abs fuse and that SHOULD rule out the abs.

How are you checking pressure?

When you tried to bleed the brakes you did have someone applying pressure to the brake right?

Old 01-12-2011, 10:57 PM
4wd High

Not checking pressure, just no fluid coming to the back. Front calipers work great, just have that one that's locked up. If I can get it unlocked, she can drive it. And yeah I had someone keeping pressure on the system

Old 01-13-2011, 07:58 AM
Rock Crawling