Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Need help please...

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 01:42 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help please...

This is my first time posting so I am very thankful that they have this forum available. So I'm a woman who just fell in love with the look of a car and just had to get it lol

I have a 96 Disc and I took it to get a brake & lamp inspection and didn't realize I had so many problems to deal with.

They said they had to check why the ABS light is on (I know I should've asked but for some reason I was thinking about the SRS light when they told me about it) and diagnose it and that itself would cost $196.00. I live in San Francisco and wanted to know if that is a reasonable price.

And I have the SRS, Anti-lock and 4WD lights on and wanted to double check with you guys to see what those problems could probably be.

I plan on having the brakes fixed and they said I only have lic plate light to fix.

Sorry my first post is so long. I need all the help I can get but I understand if you guys don't want to answer all these questions so one is good for me lol

Thanks!!!

Old 06-20-2012, 04:45 AM
Super Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 80 Posts

Here's some pages from the owner's manual. You can download the whole manual, and a set of factory tech manuals, called the RAVE, at the link in my signature.

If the 4WD light is on, you could be driving with the CDL in lock mode. This is very tough on the drive train if you are on dry pavement. And can lead to expensive failures in a short period of time. You'll want to review the "small shifter" positions. Could also be the switch that activates the light.

ABS could be a number of things, and if you search this site you will find that a number of people don't like the D1 ABS and unplug a relay to turn it off.