Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.6 Liner Rust

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2018, 05:03 PM
Baja
Received 717 Likes on 622 Posts

Originally Posted by User
come on buddy, enough of insult to injury

I wanted a new engine engine within my budget, I bought one for very likely too much, but it was a good bit less than rebuilding my current 4.6 (that has scored cylinder walls, metal shavings everywhere, and a destroyed front cover), and significantly less than a short block from AB, Turner, or any other name.

I asked for suggestions on what to do with this engine. I am not an expert. I got a good suggestion of OEM styled liners, and then your pointless comment.
Ok, Im sorry.

Send the block to Q&E in Anaheim, CA with your pistons numbered(that way they will bore match each top hat sleeve to each pistons). Vance is the guy there. He will try and sell you ARP head studs, but buy them from Summit or Lucky8. Also have them do your freeze plugs for $60 more. If the motor is from P38, it will be a "red" quality block, which is the best to start out with.

Good luck.

Old 06-21-2018, 05:28 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 137 Likes on 120 Posts

Go to a upullit, borrow a car battery, cup of fuel, get a rover engine running, take a running engine home for $150 and do what you want.
Hundreds of people do this every day why cant you?

Old 06-21-2018, 06:19 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 235 Likes on 172 Posts

You can swap out liners from your old blown motor to your new rusted 3k motor?

For sure you can hone your cylinder liners. Those liners rust *fast* if not kept coated in oil, not that it's a big deal. You can adjust your piston ring size if you are worried about the honing going too far, but that might not be necessary.

I've only rebuilt one 4.6 motor, but my experience was that pulling the motor was the biggest hassle. The actual rebuilding phase was pleasant.