Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

D1 with ISSUES

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2009, 03:56 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default D1 with ISSUES

I have been driving my D1 a little bit the last couple of days just to see where I stand and it doesn't look pretty. I bought the thing so I could learn how to work on rovers, (it was cheaper than any class I could take) so I will be doing everything myself, even though I have no experience turning wrenches. Here's the deal: 97 D1 with around 180,000 miles, new alternator and HG within the last few months via PO. I am throwing a misfire on #5 code which I am hoping will clear up with a tune up. It is a little sluggish on the low end before warming up and struggles on the highway (almost pulsing). You can floor the gas and it doesn't want to pick up speed any faster than if you were barely trying. After about 20 mins it begins to overheat and the oil light begins to flicker when I stop. I haven't driven it pass this point, I stop and lift the hood and see if I can find anything out of the ordinary. The coolant bubbles and boils, shoots out of the overflow, and the top pipe is really hot and I am unable to pinch it like it should. My initial thought is HG and have thought about taking it back to the shop that did the repairs, however it is a good distance away, so I don't want to drive it there or pay $100 to tow it there and back, and plus they only charged the guy $500 bucks so I'm a little leary (sounds a little screwy). I am going to take it to my local shop which is only about a 1/2 mile from my house and let them pressure test the coolant and oil. I am also going to start the 60k service but was wondering if I should just wait and see what the pressure tests say. My other mechanic was saying something about a mainbearing but I don't understand what or where that is so any help there would be appreciated. My question is... Where should I start? Doe