Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Bags>Coil Springs Conversion???

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2010, 04:54 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Bags>Coil Springs Conversion???

My 2001 Disco II has some issues with the rear air suspension, and I believe it may be the "pump" (or whatever it is called). The previous owner has the supply lines spliced with an air valve and a shut off valve on either side so I just "pump it up" every few weeks . I bought the truck knowing this so I am debating on wether or not to replace/fix the air suspension or replace it with a coil conversion.

Can anyone give me some insight on this? Have you done this before?...pros, cons, opinions, suggestions?

I am new to Land Rovers, but I am very capable of doing most any work myself. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Old 09-10-2010, 07:03 PM
TReK
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

pros: not that expensive, $220 with all hardware shipped on ebay, durable, will probably last the life of the truck

cons: doesn't ride as well as airbags

Old 09-11-2010, 10:46 AM
Overlanding
Arrow another question

has anyone done the conversion that could let me know if the ride is that much worse? what about you nitetrain?

are the air bag systems usually problematic on these trucks?...trying to weigh out my options

Thanks

Old 09-11-2010, 12:44 PM
TReK
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I haven't did the conversion yet but will be doing it soon. All airbags will eventually fail but they seem to last a long time, maybe 60-70k miles. I just don't want to deal with the other one going out..or the air pump..or ride sensors..if a good ride is worth a lot of money to you then go back with new airbags.

edit: find a used car dealer in your area with a discovery that has springs in the rear (was a factory option on some) and take a test drive..see how it rides.

Old 09-11-2010, 04:47 PM
Overlanding

used car dealer is a good idea, thanks.