Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Discovery II (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/)
-   -   Which is the best year for a Disco 2? If you had a choice. (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/best-year-disco-2-if-you-had-choice-87719/)

oaty 01-11-2018 01:38 PM

Which is the best year for a Disco 2? If you had a choice.

When I bought my Disco 2, I was told I would be given a non running donor D2. I may have a few trucks (D2's) to choose from. I know CDL and Non-CDL trucks, Engine differences, SAI and Non SAI...etc. I just want parts and trim that match mine, but what are other things should I look for.

Guess I am happy about a donor truck, but want to get the best choice.

Have only owned my 2000 D2 for 5 months. So I am new to this new sickness, um... "joy".

Cheers and thanks to all the LR lovers...even the haters too.

Hasta

Oaty

Best4x4 01-11-2018 04:12 PM

99-02 is my personal favorite.

The Deputy 01-11-2018 04:46 PM

Not sure what the question is...but if you have choices for an extra parts vehicle...l'd pick one that maybe had a set of rims I liked. That way you could have agressive and road set. Are you going to keep this extra rig around as a rolling chassis or dismantle?

Brian.

Sixpack577 01-11-2018 04:57 PM

If yours doesn't have a cdl, I'de get a truck that did, if possible. Then swap it over.
Otherwise, whatever the cleanest one with the most useable parts.

Best4x4 01-11-2018 05:12 PM

Yep parts wise go with the one in the best shape.

oaty 01-11-2018 05:47 PM

Donor vehicle

the vehicle I will be given is a non running or non drivable d2. Not sure if I get to pick it or not. Was told there are several d2’s. Guess I will have to wing it when on site. My current d2 does have cdl but no linkage.

OffroadFrance 01-11-2018 06:04 PM