Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 02:01 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C help!

so i took my D2 into a shop to get the A/C evacuated and charged, however, its still blowing out the same temp. The guy at the shop thinks there might be something wrong with the condenser and whatnot.

I had noticed that it doesnt blow very cold while stopped, but as soon as i start driving it will get noticeably cooler but not as cold as my other car does.

Anybody have any suggestions on this front? thanks.

Old 07-23-2016, 03:55 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2,297 Likes on 1,688 Posts

Does the Efan work?

Old 07-23-2016, 04:07 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Best4x4
Does the Efan work?
EFan? sorry....im a noob at land rovers.

Old 07-23-2016, 04:27 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 142 Likes on 113 Posts

Electric fan in the front. Comes on when the AC is turned on

Old 07-23-2016, 09:49 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts

I agree, turn on the AC and look at the fan behind the grill. It should be running pretty fast.

Old 07-25-2016, 12:35 PM
Received 368 Likes on 344 Posts

At 28C or over the A/C should run with the A/C and ignition/engine on, at least this applies to a TD5. If this doesn't happen check the fan with a 12 volt supply to see whether it's working or not. If it's working check the temperature sender for function. Often the condenser flunks and needs replacement which will require the A/C system draining and refilling with refrigerant.

Be very careful as the A/C system is under considerable pressure.

Old 07-25-2016, 12:38 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 57 Likes on 51 Posts

I'd look at the electric fan also, and it's 40A fuse.

If the fuse is blown, there's a really good chance that the motor has seized.

Old 07-25-2016, 05:34 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 111 Likes on 104 Posts