Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cracked Block?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2018, 12:05 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 115 Likes on 89 Posts

Originally Posted by The Deputy
Agree with Richard.

Being a mechanic by trade, I'm always a bit hesitant to second guess other mechanic's decisions...since they are hands-on with their information...and l'm getting my info on the net. But, in this case...this repair has had certain earmarks of causes (valley pan, front cover, head gasket or cracked block) and should have been diagnosed easily.

With that being said...let's move forward...now that they have found causes.

I'd do the front cover, valley pan gasket, reassemble. I'd not suspect any damage from some coolant being mixed with the oil, especially, when one considers the length of time. And, it's not like a ton of coolant was lost internally.

Hopefully, they come back with a reasonable repair estimate.

​​​​​​​ Brian.
Thanks Brian. I've got a call into another place to get a quote on front cover, intake manifold gasket and tune up. I'll compare the two and report back with my findings lol...

Old 09-06-2018, 12:37 PM
TReK
Received 503 Likes on 418 Posts

Answer to above, yes my front cover and oil pump gears were fine and not included in that cost.

Old 09-06-2018, 12:38 PM
Received 313 Likes on 289 Posts