Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Discovery II (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/)
-   -   Doing the 60K service! Myself..... (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/doing-60k-service-myself-19834/)

Disco Fuego 02-14-2009 07:34 PM

Doing the 60K service! Myself.....

Ok, finally got enough courage to the 60K myself thanks to all the threads posted. The only thing I will have done by AAMCO is the AT flush/service, the t/case oil and the diffs.

I am new to doing this level of car maintenance myself so this is a learning experience!

I bought:
3 bottles of SEA FOAM (after everybody convonced me this is the thing to do.)
6 quarts of Castrol GTX 10-30
1 K&N 3001 oil filter
1 can of Valvoline Heavy Duty Carb and throttle Body Cleaner

This is what I am planning on doing and PLEASE correct me if I am doing this wrong:

I just drained the oil (and learned that you can never have a big enoiugh oil pan to catch it all as it does not come down straight!). I then removed the oil filter (same story, though I got smarter and laid some old shirts and towels down). I went inside (cleaned my oily hands) and started typing...