Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help - New to Rover

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2018, 06:21 PM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Help - New to Rover

Hello Rover fans, I am new to LandRover and this forum. I purchase an 04 Disco with 93k on the clock. The car looked clean with a good service history and receipts. I drove it home about 200 miles without issue. I filled it up with premium gas and had the oil changed Mobil One 10w-30 yesterday. That is all. In total have driven 250 miles.

Here is my timeline:
2-20-18 - purchased car drove 200 miles (put in premium gas) - no issues
2-21-18 - drove car to work and back 25 miles (filled tank up premium gas) - Service Engine Light Came on
2-22-18 - Left car at mechanic to change oil and replace low beam headlight bulbs, took car to get emissions tested (failed emissions and they broke the gas door so it will now not close.
2-23-18 morning- Wife drove car 6 miles roundtrip in the morning - service engine light on
2-23-18 afternoon - I go to start car and notice that service engine light has now been joined by the abs, traction control and downhill descent lights. I believe this is the 3 amigo problem. I turned car off and drove my other car.

Would changing the oil cause this problem? What should I do next. I feel like I have made a mistake with the purchase of this vehicle. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am located in Nashville, TN. I think I am going to take it to Ed's British 4x4 in Brentwood next week.

Thoughts??

Thanks,

Corey

Old 02-23-2018, 06:28 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,588 Likes on 1,304 Posts

Not likely that it would.

What codes are coming up? If you don't know pick you favorite auto parts store most all of them will pull codes for free and have them read them.

Let us know what they are.

Old 02-23-2018, 08:29 PM
Winching
Received 141 Likes on 108 Posts