Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I HATE DOING OIL CHANGES! but it only happens a few times a year.

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2013, 05:09 PM
Winching
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default I HATE DOING OIL CHANGES! but it only happens a few times a year.

Sorry for my rant but... I have a college degree and 57 years of life experiences and am pretty mechanical on cars but for the life of me I can't seem to ever get the old oil filter off of my 2003 Disco without hot dirty oil streaming down my arm! Then the oil filter comes loose from the mount, slips out of my hands and flips upside down dumping the rest of the oil. Long ago I even removed and discarded that plastic panel that was there doing nothing that I could see as useful but get in my way. Something about that 4.6 L engine that it holds it's bladder full of oil until you remove the filter and then pees all over you. It also splashes all over the diff and steering linkage. I used a whole can of engine degreaser afterwards just cleaning everything up.

FYIW, today with the colder weather due to hit Houston by the weekend and I was due for an oil change and so I went with the Shell Rotella T6, a WIX 51515 filter and a can of BMG MOA. I switch back to the 15-40 Rotella in May or so, the miles and timeline seems to work for me if I am not doing long road trips.

All I know is since I switched to Shell R oil and the BMG product my engine runs great! No ticks or taps or knocks, just smooth.

Old 12-05-2013, 05:53 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

We just got our 2002 so I have only done it once, but it was nothing particularly bad. Im glad they have a cutout in the plastic. I was able to easily remove the filter and gingerly lower it with my hand off the side to avoid spillage.
I don't think it got any on the diff either. Maybe 4.6 is just arranged differently.