Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intermittent feeling PS

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2013, 10:32 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Intermittent feeling PS

Yesterday my PS starting feeling intermittent. It's hard to describe, but sometimes it feels assisted while others it doesn't. The first instance that you turn the wheel it feels unassisted then it quickly assist and goes back and forth between this. There are no leaks, no whines from the PS box, and the belt is firmly in place. I did add a new steering stabilizer a couple months ago that firmed up the steering, but it always felt consistent. The tie rod boots are split, and I can twist the steering stabilizer back and forth about a 1/5 to a 1/4 turn. Is that it, or something else?

Old 05-26-2013, 10:44 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

I am not a real expert of PS, but guessing may be air in the PS fluid system? Sounds like the same kind of delay you can get in the brakes when air in the system. Replacing the PS fluid would be a good idea, especially if it has not been done for 2 yrs or more. There is a bleed screw on top of the pump like a bleed screw on the brakes under a little rubber boot that crumbled when I tried to remove mine. Put a hose on it to direct the fluid down to a large pan, or just let it drip down. Careful as it will shoot up like a water fountain if you open the bleed screw very far. Ask me how I know. Just fill with PS as you go until you see new fluid draining. There are more detailed notes on the forum in regard to having ignition on and working steering back and forth. You need to keep the PS reservoir from going empty while doing this. You would probably want to put a can of Lucas PS conditioner in as well, so leave room for that or put it in as your first PS fluid. I do not recall how much it takes. Also, not sure on fluid. Some folks use ATF, I used the GM cold weather PS fluid that matched