Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Discovery II (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/)
-   -   Oil questions (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/oil-questions-82066/)

sayeedA 12-15-2016 02:58 PM

Oil questions

I have been using Rotella T6 for about 4 years now without much issue. I used Mobile 1 once and started to leak.

Question # 1 should I continue to use T6 or switch to something new?

2nd set questions. I replaced my Tranny with Valvoline MaxLife ATF while back. This morning the Transmission light came of and on few times. Now this could be one of the 2 sensors.

I have the filter and seal I bought while back. I want to go ahead that change the transmission oil just to eliminate that possibility.

Questions;

1. How difficult is it do it your self?
2. Should i stick with same ATF ? or something you suggest?
3. How many quarter of ATF we need ?
4. is there a step by step instruction?

Appreciate your help in advance.

chubbs878 12-15-2016 06:06 PM

I can't tell you which motor oil to use but why switch it up now? Everybody has different opinions and preferences on motor oil but I can do you 1-better and give you a direction on how to choose the motor oil that works best with your specific application.

1. Your disco is a flat-tappet camshaft V8; it's a very old, outdated design and requires certain minerals to aid in that camshaft function and life span. It's called Zinc and you need an oil with a healthy concentration of that.
2. You also need high level of detergents in it like calcium and magnesium to keep it clean and the oil passages freed up.
3. The oil pump design of the rover v8 benefits from a heavy weight oil and provides higher oil pressure.