Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Discovery II (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/)
-   -   Small chips w/ rust (https://landroverforums.com/forum/discovery-ii-18/small-chips-w-rust-12574/)

markroll 03-10-2008 11:56 PM

Small chips w/ rust

Hey all,
I am new to this forum. Anyway, I noticed the other day that there are 4 small (pebble sized) chips in the paint above my windshield on my 02 disco. I am not sure how long they have been there but they appear to be rusted. Does anyone have any quick fix recommendations. I am not a paint expert but I would hate to have to pay for a paint job to clean this up. Thanks.

-Mark

Adz 03-11-2008 05:07 AM

RE: Small chips w/ rust

You don't need to be a paint expert... use some wet and dry emery paper to remove the rust back to nice shiny metal (including under the edges of the pain around the chip) and to smooth the existing paint a little around the chip. Mask off everything within a couple of feet (yes feet and no I ain't kidding) with newpaper and masking tape then spray prime the chip the bare metal. Let it dry for an hour or two then very gently using very fine wet and dry flat the primer back without going back to metal. Then spray on two coats of colour coat, flatting it back with the very fine wet and dry in between coats. Clear coat over the top coat will make it look nicer... use T-cut to flat the clear coat and polish it. Job done.

Disco Mike 03-11-2008 12:21 PM

You might also get in touch with Atlantic British, they are selling paint pens that make touch up work a breeze.
I would also consider using something like Naval Jelly to remove your rust as opposed to sanding since you are just touching up such small areas.
Good luck.

Mark G 03-11-2008 01:30 PM