Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stupid Strupid ATF question... Dexron III Vs IV?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2010, 11:28 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Stupid Strupid ATF question... Dexron III Vs IV?

I'm sure im just being over cautious but....

I went looking for Dexron III (as listed in the RAVE) this weekend to do a fluid change in the tranny and there is none to be had. I assume from reading this http://www.sandyblogs.com/techlink/2...dexron-vi.html
that it has been replaced by Dexron IV but wanted to check as all this info relates to GM cars.

Its OK to use Dexron IV in the transmission right?

Thanks

Dave

Old 05-03-2010, 01:19 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Dex 5 is a synthetic, yes it will work but a waste of money when mixing it with your old ATF.
All the stores I have been in have Vavoline extended high mileage that I have been using for the last 2 years.

Old 05-03-2010, 01:58 PM
Winching
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

go with Valvoline maxlife dexmerc.

Old 05-03-2010, 04:15 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Disco Mike
Dex 5 is a synthetic, yes it will work but a waste of money when mixing it with your old ATF.
All the stores I have been in have Vavoline extended high mileage that I have been using for the last 2 years.
thats the same as the Valvoline maxlife dexmerc right or do they do just a Dexron one?

Thanks
Dave

Old 05-03-2010, 07:05 PM
TReK
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Read the bottle if you are in doubt. Valvoline dexmerc is what you want. It is synthetic too.

Old 05-03-2010, 08:01 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Go to Target, get the Castrol ATF, it is Dexron III.
But yes, to answer your question, Dexron IV will be fine.

Old 05-03-2010, 09:14 PM
TReK