Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking About Buying a 2002 Discovery

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2008, 01:32 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking About Buying a 2002 Discovery

I found a 2002 Discovery SD. It has 65,000 miles, is in good shape and has lots of add ons.(3" lift, roof cage, winch, on board air compressor, BF Goodrich Mud Terrain tires, six Hella lights, 4 on top and 2 on the grill, skid plates, air snorkel, etc...) The body is tight and clean. No rust, dings or scratches. The interior is clean. No rips, cracks or stains. The asking price is $12,000.00. Which seemed pretty decent considering the abundance of add ons and low(ish) mileage. I am going to check it out again tonight. I have no experience with Land Rovers, so what are some obvious things to look for, for this model/year vehicle.

Also someone told me that they had to get their exhaust replaced on a Discovery (not sure what year) and it was going to cost and obscene amount of money. Is there any truth to that?

I've included some pictures. I would appreciate any feedback.
Thank you.
-Mark

[IMG]local://upfiles/10546/C07483E6AFD2402386AA17F4F23B4B28.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/10546/9C611923DD924963BC781B0F1C956FEE.jpg[/IMG]

Old 06-02-2008, 01:47 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Default RE: Thinking About Buying a 2002 Discovery

Ask if the front drive shaft has been replaced with one that has greasable zerks in the double cardon. It looks like it has a lot of the bells and whistles, except the '02 MY doesn't have the CDL, a major bummer for a truck that has all the other gear for offroading. You could replace the t-case if you really wanted it.

Old 06-02-2008, 01:48 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post