Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking about a Discovery

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2009, 12:17 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking about a Discovery

You guys seem to be the experts so I'd like you to talk me into/out of buying a Discovery. - I I’ve always loved the look of the Land Rover Discovery but figured it was out of my price range and feared expensive maintenance costs. I’ve always been a Toyota fan because of their quality and reliability. We have 2 Camry’s (1996 and 2004) and my 1996 Camry now has 235,000 miles on it. I saw a 1995 4Runner (150,000 miles/$2,500) for sale in my neighborhood yesterday and it got me really thinking about getting something with less miles to replace my 96 Camry. When we buy a car we plan to keep it for a while. - I’m a civil engineer so I’d like to get something that looks professional. I’m looking for a quality SUV to drive back and forth to work (20 interstate miles each way), that doesn’t get horrible gas mileage, is reliable and will last for me at least 5 more years without concern for major repair work (transmission, head gasket, timing belt, etc.). I pretty much just drive back and forth to work and we use my wife’s car for all of our road trips to go see the family. My wife stays at home with our 1-year old and we may be having another in the next 5 years so I'd like to have something with a little more room than our Camrys without getting a van just yet. I understand that LRs do require more than the normal TLC but I also don’t have an excessive amount of time and money to spend on vehicle maintenance because of my family. We’ve had used cars our entire life so I know my way around under the hood learning to fix things that have broken at inopportune times but I’m not an expert mechanic by any means, nor do I just LOVE to work on my car. But I can do a tune-up or change a starter without too much trouble. Remember, I’m used to the Camr