Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tools and stuff...

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2010, 03:10 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tools and stuff...

Ok, please don't laugh, but total newbie here. I had posted earlier that I was looking for an 03' or 04' Discovery to replace my 05' Rubicon and I was successful in doing so. I'm now the proud owner of a black 2003 Land Rover Discovery SE7 w/ about 70K miles. It's in pristine condition.

I've read through the stickies, glanced over the PDF manual and have read a ton of posts here. This is an amazing place for information!

I'd like to start doing some of my own work, but have never tinkered with an auto mobile before lol. I do, however, want to start some where. I love working with my hands. I've built many computers, I know this is very different, but feel confident I can work on the Discovery too.

Where's the best place for a newbie to start? The small mom and pop dealership where I purchased the Disco did a lot already, but it probably wouldn't hurt to double check a few things.

Are there any particular tools I may need beyond the normal wrench, screwdriver, hammer etc?

As of right now she runs very smooth. I'm not noticing any odd sounds, no starting issues or cooling issues. There is condensation in the left headlight though that I'd like to take care of.

Like I said absolutely new to car work, but am determined to learn. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Oh and I'm out of the VIN oil pump failure range. Of course this doesn't mean it couldn't happen, but thought I'd mention it.

Thanks!

Old 04-06-2010, 03:21 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

When you have any questions pop up, ask us first so we can keep you going in the right direction.