Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://landroverforums.com/forum/general-tech-help-8/)
-   -   Overheating, won't hold coolant (https://landroverforums.com/forum/general-tech-help-8/overheating-wont-hold-coolant-30317/)

leve8888 04-10-2010 05:22 PM

Overheating, won't hold coolant

My engine is overheating after even short trips. I tried putting water/coolant in the reserve and it leaks right out the bottom. I took it to the nearest place but they couldn't locate the leak and wanted $207, to take apart the engine to see if they could find the leak. Any suggestions?

DownUnder 04-11-2010 03:19 AM

What vehicle do you own? Are you seeing it leaking out from below the expansion tank? We need more info to help you.

leve8888 04-11-2010 03:30 PM

more info

OK thanks, sorry, this is my first time trying to use this. Also I am not a mechanic by far! I have a 2003 Discovery SE, when I put the water or whatever in the reserve it is dripping from somewhere under the truck. I tried getting under there yesterday to see if I could see the source, but I am 9 months pregnant and couldn't get in there enough. But it's from underneath, doesn't appear to be from the radiator or I'd imagine the jerks from lst week would have given me a quote for 2 grand already. Anything else I can tell you?

Spike555 04-12-2010 06:55 AM

Find another shop.
www.cartalk.com, fine the "Mechanix Files" link, enter your zip code and recommended shops in your area will come up.
Just to find the leak should only be $50 or so, def no more than $100.
Fixing it is another story but you need to find it first.
Make sure you keep the reservoir full, if you let the temp gauge get into the red you will blow up the engine.

Disco Mike 04-12-2010 09:52 AM

And next time post your question in the Discovery section where it belongs for better feed back.

yloDiscoII 04-12-2010 10:55 AM