Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   LR3 (https://landroverforums.com/forum/lr3-28/)
-   -   Buying an LR3 - HSE/SE HD package with rear locking dif a must? (https://landroverforums.com/forum/lr3-28/buying-lr3-hse-se-hd-package-rear-locking-dif-must-85345/)

jwalk1995 07-30-2017 12:07 PM

Buying an LR3 - HSE/SE HD package with rear locking dif a must?

First, thx to all the contributors for great advice on this Forum, it's been helpful!

Need some advice

I've been hunting for a lower mileage LR3 for the past month or so and have come across several well cared for SE's without rear dif lock. I plan on using it for offroading, family trips and towing. I'm new to the whole off-roading world but look forward to learning and building good mems with my boys and family.

-How essential is the rear dif lock?

ArmyRover 07-30-2017 10:55 PM

It depends on how far or hard you plan to go. The locker makes a huge difference. The LR3 is extremely capable without it but is a beast with it.

If I was planning to wheel the truck then it would be on my want list.

jwalk1995 07-31-2017 11:21 AM

thx Army Rover

This will be my 3rd Rover, and I'm trying to learn from past purchasing mistakes.

I also want to maximize my return, if that's possible when I sell in the future.

abran 07-31-2017 02:15 PM

if you are even considering the need for a locker, get one. You might not ever need it, but you will have the dreaded WIBHD syndrome(Wish I Bought a Heavy Duty).

jwalk1995 07-31-2017 02:37 PM

Originally Posted by abran (Post 614575)
if you are even considering the need for a locker, get one. You might not ever need it, but you will have the dreaded WIBHD syndrome(Wish I Bought a Heavy Duty).

WIBHD is exactly what I don't want.

thx Abran

jwalk1995 08-06-2017 08:43 PM