LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Which Land Rover? LR3 vs Disco I vs Disco II or possibly Land Cruiser?

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2017, 08:08 PM
Mudding
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Which Land Rover? LR3 vs Disco I vs Disco II or possibly Land Cruiser?

I know there are lots of these threads, but they are pretty old and I'd like more up to date opinions. I'm in the market for a new off-road rig. It will be my DD for a short commute and will be moderately to semi-seriously modded for some back country exploration, remote camping, etc. in mountainous terrain. I have previously owned an '04 Disco II and loved it, but we sold it when it appeared it had a slipping liner. Shortly after selling we were planning on an LR3 for a family vehicle when we just couldn't find one that was right for us for the amount cash we had saved.

I am leaning toward the LR3 but I'm concerned about repairs that may come along. I am a capable mechanic, but we're making a move from Minnesota to Utah and am losing my shop space. When we land I will probably have a single stall garage and be fairly well stocked with hand tools. As the LR3 gets up there in age I'm concerned about the complexity of the suspension and the electronics and therefore constant repairs that might be tough for me to tackle. I follow bear_republic_overland on instagram and it seems like he's posting more than his fair share with his in the shop.

I know the Disco II fairly well from past ownership and I'm not intimidated by it's quirkiness. I would probably be looking for one in the '99.5 to early '01 range to have the center diff lockable just by adding a shift linkage. I would prefer to avoid the 4.6L due to the cylinder liner issues.