LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 LR4 Leaking Coolant - looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2020, 12:02 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2016 LR4 Leaking Coolant - looking for advice

Hello, I am new to Land Rover ownership and looking for advice. I recently bought a 2016 LR4 with 39,000 miles and a Precision First Elite extended warranty from a private seller. Car runs great has a clean history and appears in excellent condition, but a month in of owning it the coolant light came on. I took it to my BMW mechanic who specializes in German cars but do work on Land Rovers and they took a look. They pressure tested saw no sign of leak topped it off and said probably a small slow leak and bring it back if light comes on again and we will do an overnight test. A few weeks later light came on again. I just took it in and the did the overnight test. Could not find leak but can see signs of coolant under intake manifold. They think it is probably a hose or pipe leak (unfortunately hoses is one thing warranty will not cover) and say next step is remove intake manifold cover and start looking round. They have been reasonably priced in past but are estimating $2000 + for this work, which if a hose will be fully out of my pocket. A large part of cost they are saying is the time it takes to remove the intake manifold cover. Does anyone know hours of labor it normally takes to do that? Before I give the go ahead, wondering if there are other things that could be checked or if any experts out there have some theories as to what else it could be. I’m also debating taking it to a dealer or Land Rover expert instead and having them take a look. I’m in Los Angeles, anyone have a reasonable good mechanic or honest dealership they recommend for service? As a women, I’m trying to do as much research as possible so I’m not going in blind. Thank you!!!

Old 02-28-2020, 07:36 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts