Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum (https://landroverforums.com/forum/)
-   Modifications (https://landroverforums.com/forum/modifications-33/)
-   -   Home made drawer system added to my 03' Disco 2 (https://landroverforums.com/forum/modifications-33/home-made-drawer-system-added-my-03-disco-2-a-49066/)

driscoii 04-17-2012 08:22 AM

Home made drawer system added to my 03' Disco 2

5 Attachment(s)
I am new to the Land Rover community/ownership. I have found myself addicted to the trucks and have really enjoyed finding out about their quirks and fixing them. This is my first attempt to custom create a drawer system with storage for my upcoming expedition trip to Mexico. There are two drawers and both sides of the front section open to offer more storage. Any thoughts or comments/suggestions?

Savannah Buzz 04-17-2012 10:20 AM

Locks for drawers. Easy way to removed drawers if fuel pump access is needed, or access to wiring connections, etc. Patience when the federalies want to open and examine every nook and cranny. Nice work.

slanginsanjuan 04-17-2012 10:54 AM

really nice work.

Danny Lee 97 Disco 04-17-2012 12:29 PM

Looks very clean. I second all of Savannah's points, especially when you do border crossings or come into contact with Border Patrols, DEA, and other agencies. On the US side, they will be very thorough but will follow protocol regarding your constitutional rights, on the Mexican side, you are totally at their mercy and your "rights as a US citizen" have no meaning.

Also, I would love to just travel thru out those regions but with the current situation with affluent looking Americans being targeted by the banditos and such, I would be very concerned cruising into any of those areas in a nice LandRover. It is sort of like waving a flag enblazened with dollar signs saying Yours For The Taking.